Posted by: beyonddinner | November 30, 2008

Inventory

As I get started on this blog I’d like to put out an inventory – a list of what I currently try to do to eat healthy and sustainably. Later on I’ll put out a list of where I’d like to get to.

Where I am:

  • Last year we were part of a CSA, this year we grew a bunch of our own veggies in a community garden.
  • I buy organic some of the time, but not all of the time.
  • When it’s not a holiday, we tend to cook vegan at home.
  • When I have meat, I try to have it be sustainably raised, or at least organic.
  • Ideally I try to follow this meal plan: Breakfast: fruit and greens smoothie, Lunch: leftovers, Dinner: a salad, a cooked vegetable, a bean-based main course, Snack: fruit. Lately I haven’t been very close on this, but I’m still trying!
  • We compost some of our food waste through vermicomposting, which enhances the soil in our garden.
  • I read everything I can get my hands on about food and sustainable food systems.
  • I’ve changed my eating habits drastically – going from junk food, meat and refined carbohydrates to a primarily plant-based diet.
  • I eat locally and seasonably only some of the time.
  • We spend a lot of money on food – between $600 and $800/month for a family of four. At least a third of that is on produce.
  • I’d like to become more active in food sustainability issues, but I don’t know where to focus my efforts yet.
  • We’ve determined that it is possible to do all of our grocery shopping within walking/biking distance and occasionally do that. It would be hard to give up going to Russo’s though, which is about 8 miles from our house!
  • Once in awhile we go to Haymarket and load up on long-lasting and inexpensive produce.
  • I try to bring my lunch to work everyday but I end up eating out probably once a week.
  • As a family we average eating out about one dinner a week. The other dinners are mostly home-cooked, family affairs, all four of us sitting down to eat.
  • I’m very interested in doing more.
Leave a Reply

Categories

